CAPTAIN BLACK BEARD - Sonic Forces (April 2020)


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements

New release from: CAPTAIN BLACK BEARDSonic Forces (April 24, 2020-POSTPONED)

Captain Black Beard made their live debut in Stockholm, Sweden on the 31st October 2009 and released their self-titled album in May 2011. Hailed by the press all over the world, so much it was called one of the “albums of the year” by legendary journalist Geoff Barton of Classic Rock Magazine.

After shows in America and the UK, most of 2013 was spent working on the second album Before Plastic which was released in May 2014. The band also made a return to the UK playing the Hard Rock Hell Festival and opening for Graham Bonnet (Rainbow, MSG). This album also got great reviews and featured a guest appearance by Bruce Kulick (KISS, Grand Funk Railroad).

In February 2015, Captain Black Beard entered the studio with producer Chips Kiesbye (Hellacopters, Bonafide). They also toured Scandinavia as a support act to Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen), Robin Beck and House Of Lords. It’s A Mouthful was released in March 2016 and the tour started with a comeback to the Hard Rock Hell Festival as well as – again – supporting Joe Lynn Turner. By the end of the year, the group amicably parted ways with singer Sakaria Björklund.

In 2017 a “new” Captain Black Beard entered the studio to record with producer Jona Tee (keyboardist in H.e.a.t) and in April 2018, Struck By Lightning was released to rave reviews. This line-up would, however, be short-lived and tour dates following the release featured the amazing Linnea Vikström (Therion) as temporary lead vocalist.
In early 2019 the band brought in singer Martin Holsner for a co-headlining tour with Osukaru throughout Germany and started to work on a new album with producer Dave Malone (guitarist in H.e.a.t) which led to the band completely reinventing themselves in time for their 10th anniversary.

Following a bombastic start of 2020 supporting Geoff Tate on tour, Captain Black Beard are proud to bring out their Sonic Forces this coming April. The album was recorded at Yardstreet Studios in Stockholm, Sweden.


April 25th, Musikens Hus – Göteborg, SWE

May 22nd, Harry B James – Stockholm, SWE

May 23rd, Björnes – Örebro, SWE


Christian Ek – guitar

Martin Holsner – vocals

Robert Majd – bass

Vinnie Stromberg – drums

BUY: /


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements here.