JOHAN KIHLBERG'S IMPERA - Spirit of Alchemy (April 9, 2021)


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements

New release from: JOHAN KIHLBERG’S IMPERA – Spirit of Alchemy (April 9, 2021)

Metalville Records announces April 9th as the international release date for the highly anticipated fifth album of Johan Kihlberg’s Impera, Spirit of Alchemy.

Johan Kihlberg’s Impera is the brainchild of Stockholm born drummer Johan Kihlberg, who formed the band in 2011 after having worked in the music business for over 30 years, performing with members from legendary acts such as KISS, Thin Lizzy, Europe, Rainbow, and Mötley Crue.

Every album leading up to Spirit of Alchemy has been unique in how Kihlberg has invited his noted friends from the international rock and metal community to add their magic to the songs. This time, the stellar musicianship comes courtesy of no less than bassist John Levén (who has been with Swedish hard rock titans Europe since its formation) and renowned drummer Snowy Shaw (who has a history with King Diamond, Mercyful Fate, and Sabaton). The soaring vocals are brought to you by powerhouse Jonny Lindkvist of Nocturnal Rites, while the stellar guitar wizardry once again is handled by Lars Chriss from Lion’s Share.

Spirit of Alchemy is an album full of focus and determination. The metal riffing in songs like the up-tempo rocker “All About You” and the guitar picking that starts off the haunting “When Souls Collide” manage to sound both classic and futuristic at the same time. Even though Johan Kihlberg’s Impera’s new effort is rooted in the harder realms of rock, Kihlberg’s lifelong passion for atmospheric movie soundtracks once again shines through in the epic finale that is “Battle.”

The band’s heaviest album to date, Spirit of Alchemy is sure to please both older and newer fans and push Johan Kihlberg’s Impera’s career to the next level. (preceding text: Carl Linnaeus) Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Johan Kihlberg’s Impera’s Spirit of Alchemy

1. Nothing Will Last
2. Read It And Weep
3. All About You
4. When Souls Collide
5. In Heaven
6. What Will Be Will Be
7. Lost Your Life To Rock ‘n’ Roll
8. No
9. Battle


Johan Kihlberg – mastermind
Lars Chriss (LION’S SHARE) – guitars
Jonny Lindkvist (NOCTURNAL RITES) – vocals
John Levén (EUROPE) – bass
Snowy Shaw (ex-SABATON, KING DIAMOND) – drums
Kay Backlund (LION’S SHARE) – keyboards
Mats Vassfjord (220 VOLT) – bass on “Lost Your Life To Rock ‘n’ Roll”
Pontus Egberg (KING DIAMOND) – bass on “In Heaven”


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements here.

Listen to the new music on CGCM Radio and join our socials: