Lindsay Schoolcraft - MartyrCradle of Filth keyboardist and vocalist LINDSAY SCHOOLCRAFT, an accomplished singer, songwriter, harpist, and pianist in her own right is preparing to release her debut solo album later this year. Martyrco-written by former Evanescence drummer Rocky Gray, offers eleven tracks of entrancing gothic rock, influenced by Schoolcraft‘s background in classical music. Fans of Evanescence, Nightwish, and the like will appreciate Martyr‘s lush, piano-driven arrangements, while Cradle of Filth enthusiasts will enjoy hearing this darkly romantic side of Schoolcraft‘s music.

About Lindsay Schoolcraft

Lindsay Schoolcraft is a singer, songwriter, harpist, and pianist from the city of Oshawa, Ontario, Canada. She was discovered and recruited by the British extreme heavy metal band Cradle of Filth in 2013 and promoted to full-time membership in 2014. Since then she has embarked on many world tours and appears on albums Hammer of The Witches (2015) and Cryptoriana: The Seductiveness of Decay (2017), both released under Nuclear Blast Records.

In addition, Lindsay is a co-founder in the classical meets black metal ensemble Antiqva alongside co-creator and guttural vocalist Xenoyr (Ne Obliviscaris). She also has a character, Skvllcraft, modeled after her stage persona in the black metal comic Belzebubs; Lindsay contributed her vocals as said character on their album Pantheon of The Nightside Gods (2019, Century Media Records).

2019 will see the independent release of Lindsay Schoolcraft’s debut solo album Martyr.

Album Credits

  • -Produced, Engineered, and Mixed by Tyler Williams of Monolithic Productions. Mastered by Lasse Lammert.
  • -All songs written by Lindsay Schoolcraft and Rocky Gray with the exception of “Stranger,” written by Lindsay Schoolcraft, Matt Kelly, and Rocky Gray
  • -Lyrics, Piano, and Harp by Lindsay Schoolcraft
  • -Drum programming, Guitar, and Bass by Rocky Gray
  • -Orchestration by Spencer Creaghan
  • -Additional Orchestration by Matthew Van Dreil
  • -Orthodox chant on “Saviour” by Vassilis Thomas
  • -Gregorian chant on “Saviour” by David Michael Moote
  • -Children’s choirs on “Dangerous Game,” “Warm Me,” and “Remember” thanks to the aid of Chanel Martins
  • -Guest vocals on “See The Light” by Xenoyr
  • -Backing vocals on “My Way Without You” by Lauren Francis
  • -Cover Artwork by Anastasia Solti and logo by Lindsey Márton

Scrolling through my newsfeed on Facebook, I came across a post by Inertia Entertainment owner Noel Peters who helped create the video for Lindsay Schoolcraft’s track “Savior”. It piqued my interest, so I clicked the link only to be wowed by the spectacular vocals and the gothic rock flavour. This style has been right up my alley for the last 5 years. After watching the video, I went on the hunt to find out who Lindsay is. I was shocked and excited to find out Lindsay is from my hometown of Oshawa, Ontario, Canada. She is also the keyboardist for Cradle of Filth which is a little too heavy on the growls for my taste.

Once I received my press copy of Lindsay’s debut album, Martyr, it has not stopped playing in the car and at home.


Lindsay Schoolcraft - MartyrThe album starts off with the single “Savior”, which is likely the best song on the album, but Martyr does not drop as we cruise through the tracks. “Dangerous Game” is another standout track with exquisite vocals and hard-hitting musical charisma.

Stranger” starts off slower which gains momentum while giving us a symphonic feel with the talented Lindsay pelting the keys.

Into the Night” shows the beautiful piano playing of Lindsay. The band boosts the tempo of the song with heavier riffs throughout which makes this a remarkable gothic imprint.

Slowing the pace down “Blood from a Stone” is a piano and vocal masterpiece. Lindsay is magnificent on this title which shows all her hard work and training has paid off.

Dawn” is more of an instrumental with the non-lyrical vocals of Lindsay’s soft elegant voice.

Slightly picking up the tempo, “Remember” fits perfectly into the path that Martyr has taken us on this journey. “See the Light” is the heaviest track on the CD. Growls by guest vocals Xenoyr. Having a bit of growls in a track I am OK with and this gives just enough to show the passion throughout the track.

Where I fall” is a graceful track that kicks into high gear during the chorus. “My Way Without You” is another piano and vocal track with the beautiful backing vocals of Lauren Francis.

The album finishes off with the dark mysterious song, “Lullaby”. A strong conclusion to the debut release.

My Final Thoughts

Overall not a weak song on the album. The heavier tracks really stand out for me, but I will not be skipping any tracks once I get my hard copy in hand.

Release date October 7th, 2019 on Shopify & Bandcamp. October 11th, 2019 for all digital platforms.


Join the mailing list to be notified when the album releases here: Official Site