SONIC DESOLUTION - Explorer (April 30, 2021)


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements

New release from: SONIC DESOLUTION – Explorer (April 30, 2021)

Swedish melodic progressive rock band, SONIC DESOLUTION, featuring members of KAIPA, KEE MARCELLO, OUT OF THIS WORLD, ARTIC RAIN, have announced the release of their debut album Explorer on April 30th, 2021 via GMR Music. Explorer is for fans of classic prog like Flower Kings, Kaipa and Genesis.

Written by Peter Lazar, Daniel Gustafsson and Ken Sandin, produced by Sonic Desolution, with final mixes and mastering by Andy La Rocque (King Diamond).

Explorer is a melodic progressive thematic art-rock album, by new Swedish constellation SONIC DESOLUTION.


1. Explorer
2. The Waltz
3. Eye To Eye
4. Midlife Insight
5. Fair Warning
6. New Beginning
7. Tranquilandia
8. 21g

Reflecting on the different phases and insights of life, in eight ‘chapters’, there’s a bit of classic prog, symph, pomp… even pop. Three main vocalists cover the wide range of dynamics of each song.

There are the hoarse soulful vocals of Jan Johansen, one of the most well-known solo artists in Sweden since decades, in balance with the female vocals of Annica Svensson for the more subtle parts and occasional heavy rock vocals by Mads Clausen (ex-Biscaya, Timecode Alpha) for the most intense parts.

The complex, yet melodic, music is performed by great renowned players: drummer Morgan Ågren (Devin Townsend, Dweezil Zappa, Kaipa), bass player Ken Sandin (Kee Marcello, Uli Jon Roth, Vinnie Moore); guitar player Magnus Berglund (Arctic Rain), Peter Lazar (Timecode Alpha), plus a few guesting session performers.


Jan Johansen – Vocals
Annica Svensson – Vocals
Mads Clausen – Vocals (ex Biscaya, Timecode Alpha)
Morgan Ågren – Drums (Devin Townsend, Dweezil Zappa, Kaipa)
Ken Sandin – Bass (Out Of This World, Kee Marcello, Uli Jon Roth, Vinnie Moore)
Magnus Berglund – Guitars (Arctic Rain)
Peter Lazar – Guitars (Timecode Alpha)


Check out all our Upcoming Release announcements here.

Listen to the new music on CGCM Radio and join our socials: